Multi Seed Bread (normal or gluten friendly) 

img_3959-1Do you like bread? Then I have something for you today:
Multi seed bread (normal or gluten friendly) based on the UK Basic Cookbook recipe for Five Seed bread

I actually follow the guided recipe, only the seeds I mix up before and then put all together in the bowl. You can do the steps manually as well, of course.

 

  • 500 gr water (18 oz)
  • 2 tsp dry yeast
    (I take one paket Fleischmann’s Rapid Rise Instant yeast, which comes out to 2 1/4 tsp – our friend Peter, who is a baker, said that’s totally ok)

Both come into the mixing bowl.

Heat up for 2 1/2 min/37C (100F)/speed 2

During this time I quickly grease the loaf tin and set the oven to 80°C (170°F), which I found out is perfect to let the dough grow later.

Then put all other ingredients together in the mixing bowl

  • 500 gr flour (18 oz)
    (We use 100% Whole Wheat Flour from Wheat Montana – the original recipe just says bread flour) – as I have a gluten intolerance, I try not to eat too much gluten, so I mix 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 buckwheat flour and add a heaping tsp xantham gum)
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 40-50g Oats
  • 30 g (3 tbsp) Pine seeds
  • 30g (3 tbsp) Sesame Seeds
  • 30g (3 tbsp) Flaxseeds
  • 30g (3 tbsp) Sunflower Seeds
  • 30g (3 tbsp) Chia Seed
  • 30g (3 tbsp) Psyllium Fiber
  • 30g (1 oz) Honey (or agave syrup)
  • 30g Olive Oil
  • Set kneading function to 2 1/2 min.
Wonderful dough
Dough after 2 1/2 min kneading with Thermomix

The first time I made this dough, I was kind of irrated by the consistency of the outcoming result, as it’s more like a slimy batter than what you expect for a dough – very liquid. Maybe I put a little to much water and used half normal all-purpose flour and half whole grain flour, which of course has a huge influence on the dough). But the bread came out perfect, with a nice crust and very fluffy inside!

This time I made one bread with whole grain flour only and one with half whole grain flour and half selfmade buckwheat flour. Both batters came out sticky, but not liquid anymore.

Dough in loaf tin
Dough in loaf tin

Fill the dough in the prepared loaf tin make sure to press it on the ground and into the corners, otherwhise you might get a surprise later).
If you like to have some seeds on the top, brush the top with water, spread some seeds and press them a little into the dough (I didn’t do that this time and 90% of them fall down when I took out the bread out of the loaf tin).
Put the loaf tin in the preheated oven for 30 min to ket the dough grow.

After 30 min I set the oven temperature to 200°C (400°F) and bake the bread for 30 to 45 min (depending on how crunchy you want to have the crust, extend the time – I prefer not to hard). If you do not use the oven to let the dough grow, you might refer to the original recipe, which says 45-60 min). I’m using a skewer to check whether the dough is still sticky inside. If not, I take it out and let it cool down. Best is to put it on a grid or after 15 min turn it upside down, so that the bottom of the bread can fully cool down and dry.

A yummi, healthy, whole grain bread with a lot of nutrition and without any preservatives! And it’s so easy to make with this kitchen chef!

Here you can find a similar recipe in an English community forum for Thermomix:

http://www.forumthermomix.com/index.php?topic=1658.0


One thought on “Multi Seed Bread (normal or gluten friendly) 

Leave a comment